MY TAKE ON THE CAPSULE WARDROBE

img_8262-2

I was never a shopaholic, or the type of person to use retail therapy to get myself out of a funk. Being a middle child, I often received hand-me-downs; I loved them, but I suppose because of it, I never truly developed my own personal style. Until recently, I just saw clothes as a necessity and not much else. A few years ago, I came to the realization that I had a wardrobe full of items I didn’t like wearing. I felt like my clothes didn’t suit me anymore; they felt juvenile and unfashionable. They didn’t express my personal style. In fact I didn’t know what my personal style was. But it certainly wasn’t being conveyed by the clothes hanging in my closet.

Then I discovered the coveted CAPSULE WARDROBE. It seemed to have all the answers I was looking for! A limited and curated collection of clothing items that looked great together and made you feel great wearing it.

I was hooked.

1751

I obsessively started making lists of all the clothes I would have to make the perfect capsule wardrobe. But when you’re not really sure what your personal style is, that’s pretty hard. My lists from 2 years ago look very different to what I would have written 2 days ago. I kept on making lists to make sure I would only have items to make the PERFECT capsule wardrobe.

But perfect never happened.

It’s been a few years and I still haven’t committed to my own official capsule wardrobe. I just never felt like I had the perfect capsule wardrobe hanging in my closet or that I was “ready”.

BUT, I’ve used the concepts of capsule wardrobes, along with the help of blogs like Unfancy and Into Mind, to guide me, and I now have a set of clothes that I love to wear.

For me, the goal of the capsule wardrobe wasn’t to help me curb a shopping addiction, or limit the amount of clothes I owned. Instead, I used it as a tool to help me define my personal style. I wouldn’t say my wardrobe is perfect, but I definitely feel much more confident in my clothes.

dsc_8302dsc_8296dsc_8300

Since I’m not trying to kick a bad shopping habit, I took the principles of a capsule wardrobe, and used in a way that suited me. Here’s my take on the project, as well as a few “rules” that I broke.

  1. You can only have 30 pieces : Since my goal isn’t to limit my shopping or curb impulsive buys, I never felt the need to stick to a strict number.
  2. Those pieces include shoes, bags, and accessories : I’ve never owned a lot of these items, so again I wouldn’t see the need to limit myself. I’m not the type to go crazy over bags anyways (although I know I would buy too many pairs of shoes if my wallet would permit it).
  3. You need to change out your clothes every season : I live in Southern California; I can wear sleeveless tops in December. We don’t really experience extreme seasons, so I don’t feel much need to switch out clothes every 3 months.
  4. You can’t go shopping until the change of a new season : As a college student with a part time job, I don’t necessarily have the luxury of buying a mass of clothes all at once. I try to make a list of things I need/want, and keep my eye open for those items when my wallet permits (thrift stores are great for this!).

Have you been bitten by the capsule wardrobe bug? Do you have a capsule wardrobe? Or have you wanted one but haven’t been able to commit to one like me? Let me know in the comments below 💕

 

 

Leave a Reply

