Death Valley Birthday Roadtrip

You guys!! I’m so late to write this post! But better late than never I suppose.

death valley 19

Jose and I went on a special little road trip a few weekends ago (eek, more like a month now x_x) to celebrate my 6th birthday. Yes, my 6th birthday! Fun fact, I was born on Leap Day (February 29th) and I LOVE it! I think it’s so much fun to have a unique birthday. On the years when I don’t have a “real” birthday, I get to celebrate it on both February 28th and March 1st. Because why not?

But this year was special. This year I had a REAL birthday. And I got to celebrate it by going on a road trip with my boyfriend to see the DEATH VALLEY SUPER BLOOM. Well, that’s what all the online articles were calling it. They predicted that the El Niño would bring in more rains this year which in turn means more flowers. I don’t think that it actually brought in a higher than average rainfall, but the spring flowers were spectacular nonetheless.

death valley 1

Our trip started at 8:30 in the morning with a full tank and a cooler full of snacks. And we drove. For hours…and hours.

From the nearest “major” to the western entrance of Death Valley, there were maybe a total of 2 or 3 gas stations, a refinery, and not much else. Pretty desolate. So what did we do when we saw this spotless and immaculate park bench in the middle of no where?

Why, pull over and use it as a photo opp, of course!

death valley 5death valley 7

After 5+ hours of driving and a few gas station stops, we made it to Death Valley. And let me tell you, the view was stunning! I was geeking out over seeing all of the plants and flowers. For those who know me, they know that I am basically the biggest plant nerd ever. And I was so enjoying myself and the view. It was sheer bliss!

death valley 22death valley 28

death valley 34death valley 35

Death Valley used to have a large lake (remnants of it still remain). When the lake finally dried up, it left behind what looked like acres of crunchy white salt. It was quite surreal to be walking on it, and hearing the crunch under you feet like snow.

death valley 38death valley 39

After the salt flats, we went on a hike through this canyon. It wasn’t strenuous, but it sure was nice to stretch our legs on a 2+ mile hike after sitting in a car for so long.

death valley 40death valley 45death valley 46death valley 44

Going to Death Valley to see the blooms has been on my things-I-want-to-experience list for a while now, and I’m so glad I finally had the chance to check it out.

Now, what’s next? 😉

Leave a Reply

